Helpful Hints

Moderator: Vyper

Vyper
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Helpful Hints

Postby Vyper » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:35 pm

As we'll be introducing more rules into the campaign and as games are played and queries arise, I thought it might be interesting to note and discuss some important game rules every now and again. I'll try to post up something every couple of days or so.

So one thing that we've seen a lot of is Ninjas and lunatics on motorbikes and other models with the Stealth skill sneaking around and shanking lone models from behind. What can we do to stop that?


Stealth Automatic Skill

Stealth is granted to a character by having any ranks in Martial Arts, Impersonation or TO/Ambush/Normal Camouflage.

A model with Stealth may make Cautious Movements within the Zone of Control of an enemy - this is not normally allowed.

Models with Stealth that Move or Cautious Move outside of Line of Fire of an enemy don't grant an ARO to that enemy even if in their Zone of Control. Note that any non-movement skills will still grant AROs normally.

This means if you have Stealth you can walk into combat with an enemy from behind with the second part of your Order and they won't get an ARO until you actually attack. Pretty handy.


Alert ARO

Alert can only be used in reaction and requires Line of Fire to the target. It is not a valid ARO against a marker, only against an actual model. When a model uses Alert it can allow any number of allied models to take a Change Facing ARO - there is no limit on distance or LoF for this. Note that the Alerting model does not roll any dice for this effect and so isn't defending himself from any incoming attacks.

A model that uses this Change Facing counts this as his ARO for the order. He couldn't both use Change Facing and Shoot or Dodge in ARO, for example.


Change Facing ARO

A model may use Change Facing as an ARO to turn to face a new direction if an enemy spends an Order in Zone of Control (or the model has been Alerted). This is done by making a PH-3 roll which is opposed by any incoming attacks just like a Dodge is. The -3 penalty does not stack with the penalty for being hit from outside Line of Fire with a template weapon.

Change Facing is normally a worse option than Dodge due to the fact that you can only turn on the spot and have a penalty to do so. The upside is you can use it against targets outside of Line of Fire.

If a model with Stealth shoots from behind, but within Zone of Control, then Change Facing can be used as a way of Dodging. Note that the penalties for Surprise Shot -(3) for being shot by a model who was in a Marker state are cumulative with the -3 for Change Facing. So are any modifiers for being a TAG (-6), Remote (-3) or on a Motorcycle (-3). But still, it's better than nothing.

Note that you can change facing against a Marker, but only if you have Line of Fire to it already. Situationally useful if you suspect that it's going to try and move behind you.


Dealing with Ninjas

So the best way to deal with Ninjas is to have lots of overlapping Lines of Fire between your deployed units and to make sure you aren't deploying units completely isolated. Use Discover and then Alert AROs from distant models to ensure that the troops in greatest danger are always facing the right way. Having a model Change Facing allows it at least some chance of surviving incoming shooting attacks.

Even if you lose one model, the Ninja should now be relatively in the open and subject to AROs should it move again. Don't give them an easy time! It's hard to stop them killing a single model if they go on a suicide run, but shouldn't get away with much more than that.
Your local Infinity War Correspondent.
Check out my wargaming blog at http://www.lead-rising.com.
User avatar
Monk
Committee Member
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:31 pm
Flag: Germany
Contact:

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Monk » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:39 pm

Vyper wrote:
Stealth Automatic Skill

Stealth is granted to a character by having any ranks in Martial Arts, Impersonation or TO/Ambush/Normal Camouflage.

A model with Stealth may make Cautious Movements within the Zone of Control of an enemy - this is not normally allowed.

Models with Stealth that Move or Cautious Move outside of Line of Fire of an enemy don't grant an ARO to that enemy even if in their Zone of Control. Note that any non-movement skills will still grant AROs normally.

This means if you have Stealth you can walk into combat with an enemy from behind with the second part of your Order and they won't get an ARO until you actually attack. Pretty handy.


Does that means me and Ian had this wrong last night. Ian's ninja did the cautious movement but crossed my LOF. Should I have had an ARO?
My Painting - Http://thepaintingmonkey.wordpress.com
My Ramblings - https://twitter.com/MunkeyKungFu

Games currently playing
X-Wing| Board games Galore| Guild Ball | Warhammer Conquest | Game of Thrones LCG
Vyper
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Vyper » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:48 pm

Nope, you had it right last night. Cautious Move is designed to let you cross Lines of Fire without generating AROs.

The model must begin and end it's movement outside of Line of Fire and Zone of Control of all enemy models and Markers. If these conditions are met then it doesn't generate any AROs. If the model has Stealth, then it waives the necessity of being outside of Zone of Control.

If the movement isn't sufficient to leave it outside of LoF and ZoC of all enemies then everyone can declare AROs as normal. This can be fatal for the cautious, but foolish, model.
Your local Infinity War Correspondent.
Check out my wargaming blog at http://www.lead-rising.com.
Steve O'Hair
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:30 pm
Flag: Great Britain

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Steve O'Hair » Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:36 pm

Something else to point out (as myself and Peter had discussed it a weekend or two ago) is the last figure standing rule.
It is, unfortunately, found in Human Sphere (just above the section on equipment) rather than the corebook.

It states that players have a minimum of two orders in their pool at the start of their turn, regardless of the number of conscious models. The lieutenant order is counted as an order for this purpose, though impetuous orders are not.
Vyper
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Vyper » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:52 pm

The method for counting up orders has been superseded by the rules in the core book. :)

Unless it gets added in a new FAQ, there is currently no minimum order pool.
Your local Infinity War Correspondent.
Check out my wargaming blog at http://www.lead-rising.com.
Vyper
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Vyper » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:34 am

Command Tokens 101

Command Tokens are a new feature in N3 and are being introduced as part of Round 2 of the escalation league, so it's best to get used to the idea of them being around!

If you played 2nd edition at all then you may know that Lieutenant Orders could be used for a variety of extra functions (forming link teams, passing Guts rolls etc.), but these are now all covered by Command Tokens instead.

Each army, regardless of points level, starts the game with 4 Command Tokens, although some characters, like Sun Tze may, provide a 5th using the Advanced Command skill. These are a non-replenishing resource - once used they are gone - so be careful with them.

I'll try and describe the various uses for them below:


Strategic Uses

If you are taking the second turn then you can spend a single Command Token on one of the below options. This is done at the start of the first player's first turn before they spend any Orders.

Option 1: Remove two Regular Orders from the player's Order Pool for the duration for the first game turn. This can be taken from any Combat Group or Groups.

Option 2: Prevent the player from spending more than one Command Token during their own first turn.


Tactical Uses

During the game you may spend Command Tokens for any of these special abilities. There is no limit to how many Command tokens you can spend during a turn - unless you are affected by Option 2 above.

Form Link Team: You may form a link team during your Active turn by spending a Command Token. The Link Team must follow all normal rules and a Team Leader must be designated.

Move Combat Groups: You may move a Trooper from one Combat Group to another permanently. This can only be done during the start of your Turn before you count up your available Orders.

Cancel Possessed State: Hackers can take control of TAGs you control using Possession. This is a bad thing. You can cancel the Possession effect by spending a Command Token at the start of your turn before Orders are counted.

Guts Rolls: You can choose to Pass or Fail a Guts Roll regardless of the outcome of the die roll or any special skills that the unit might have.

Transform Irregular Order: For one Player Turn only, change an Irregular Order in your Order Pool into a Regular one. Note that when in Loss of Lieutenant, all your models are considered Irregular for the turn. Command Tokens can be a good way to get things done still.

Ignore Retreat: Have one trooper be unaffected by the Retreat state until the end of the game. Note that most games will still finish at the end of a player's turn if they started that turn in Retreat.

Doctor Roll: Reroll a failed Doctor roll when attempting to heal a trooper that has a Cube.

Engineer Roll: Reroll a failed Engineer roll when attempting to repair a trooper that has a the Ghost special rule.


Coordinated Order

This option is special enough to mention separately. You may spend one Command Token and one Regular Order to initiate a Coordianted Order. Coordinated Orders work a little bit like Link Teams in that they are an order efficient way to move around the battlefield.

Note that it is not possible to Coordinated Order a model in a Link Team.

A Coordinated Order involves between 2 and 4 troopers who all get to act simultaneously. They must all have the same training (Regular/Irregular) and must all declare and execute the same sequence of skills. One model must be designated as the 'Spearhead' and is considered the leader of the Coordinated Order.

The Spearhead has the Burst of his weapon halved and all other participants count as Burst 1 for the duration of the order (Missile Launchers are pretty good for this!) and all troopers must act against the same target - no splitting up to attack different models!

Troopers that participate in a Coordianted Order only provoke a single ARO from each enemy that could see any number of them. Reactive models may use their AROs against any member of the Coordinated Order that they could normally react against.

In Close Combat, only the Spearhead gets to fight but gets +1 Burst and +1 PH for each other Coordinated model in the combat.

Uses for Coordinated Orders
This is probably the most powerful use of a Command Token as each one effectively transforms into 3 Orders if used carefully. The most common uses for Coordinated Orders are likely to be:

1. Move-Move'ing with 4 models at the same time. Very efficient way to reposition a lot of your forces quickly.

2. Flanking or Overrunning tough targets like TAGs. If you can get multiple models (preferably with high power weapons like Snipers and Missiles/Rockets) to Coordinated Order against a single tough unit then it will be forced to Dodge or to eat lots of unopposed attacks.

3. Suppressive Fire. You get to put up to four models into Suppressive Fire for a low cost in order. A great, cheap way of setting up defensive positions at the end of your turn.

4. Okay, well this isn't going to a common use but it is funny. You can have up to four models Speculatively throw Grenades at the same target. Bonus points if you marked the target with a Forward Observer first. Bombs away!

Enjoy!
Your local Infinity War Correspondent.
Check out my wargaming blog at http://www.lead-rising.com.
User avatar
radegast6@gmail.com
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:08 am
Location: Bristol - Stokes Croft
Flag: Poland
Contact:

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby radegast6@gmail.com » Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:55 pm

good tips Peter
3. Suppressive Fire. You get to put up to four models into Suppressive Fire for a low cost in order. A great, cheap way of setting up defensive positions at the end of your turn.
Is that move and suppressive fire, or shoot and suppressive fire as well?
Username: radegast6@gmail.com
Real Name: Adrian Kramarzyk
Games -Warmachine -Khador,dreadballveer-myn,WarzoneRessurection-Mishima,2nd.ed.BauchausMilitia,Deadzone-all Warpath-Verr-myn,Infinity Ariadna, Necromunda Malifaux - GuildBoard Games-Risk,Zombies!!!,SpaceHulk,ProjectPandora,
Games to be Xwing, Wolfsung
My painting blog -http://miniaturesconversion.blogspot.co.uk/
Steve O'Hair
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:30 pm
Flag: Great Britain

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Steve O'Hair » Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:41 pm

Suppressive Fire is a long order.
This means, also, that you cannot do it in sight of enemies without provoking unopposed AROs.
User avatar
radegast6@gmail.com
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:08 am
Location: Bristol - Stokes Croft
Flag: Poland
Contact:

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby radegast6@gmail.com » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:38 am

3. Suppressive Fire. You get to put up to four models into Suppressive Fire for a low cost in order. A great, cheap way of setting up defensive positions at the end of your turn. - so is it long order but it spreads to 4 models.
Username: radegast6@gmail.com
Real Name: Adrian Kramarzyk
Games -Warmachine -Khador,dreadballveer-myn,WarzoneRessurection-Mishima,2nd.ed.BauchausMilitia,Deadzone-all Warpath-Verr-myn,Infinity Ariadna, Necromunda Malifaux - GuildBoard Games-Risk,Zombies!!!,SpaceHulk,ProjectPandora,
Games to be Xwing, Wolfsung
My painting blog -http://miniaturesconversion.blogspot.co.uk/
Vyper
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Re: Helpful Hints

Postby Vyper » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:45 am

If you use a Coordinated Order then you can activate up to four models at once, but they must all use the same skills.

Just have them all use the full order skill Suppressive Fire. :) They won't be able to do anything else with that order though and will not oppose any AROs, so be careful with it. Still a good way of protecting your forces though.
Your local Infinity War Correspondent.
Check out my wargaming blog at http://www.lead-rising.com.

Return to “Infinity”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest